ClassTools.net: using their cool tools to work on close ups

merry go round
All the fun of the fair

Technology Returns, and here are some really fun tools

ClassTools.net: Create interactive flash tools / games for education.

I haven’t written about technology for quite a while now but this site provides us with a serious of really “cool tools”. You can simply use them in class, like the countdown clock with various musical themes to choose from, or you can use the templates and then embed them in your blog or wiki, like the Fakebook page we used in the Literature work (See the second Storytelling post). Here’s an example of how I decided to use “Lights Out” in my online class (which is on Tuesday so I’ll tell you later how it went.)

Lights Out

Lights Out is a new take on the idea of covering an image and revealing it slowly. You simply upload an image and then: hey presto, there you are, you can turn the lights out and with a digital torch illuminate just the bits you want to. To do this online though I didn’t know if I would be able to use the application, some of the students would not be able to see it, so I scratched my head and thought for a bit and this is the recipe:

1) upload the image on Lights Out;

2) Decide how you are going to use it, which bits to highlight, what questions you might ask;

3)Make a screen capture video of the exerice with Jing or Camstudio, which is opensource software and my personal favourite;

4) you can either embed the video, save it or put it on YouTube etc. or simply use in class. I uploaded it to WizIQ so that I can use the video in the lesson, and my students should be able to see it. Anyway, I’ll let you know what happens.

Oh, what was that? You want to see the video? Well, as it happens you’re in luck I put it onto YouTube as well 🙂

2 thoughts on “ClassTools.net: using their cool tools to work on close ups

  1. What a clever idea! Thanks for introducing it – hadn’t paid attention to this one their site!
    Now I feel as if you have given me a challenge – how do I adapt it for my clasrroom? The idea is very visual which is very attractive to me with my deaf and hard of hearing students. But I have them working alone or in pairs on the computer (we study in the format of a learning center) and they can’t utilize narration. Hmmm… will get back to you on this one!
    Thanks!

    1. That sounds really good, Naomi. If they can upload to the computers they can make their own activities with their own pics, which would be fun for everyone, then they could draw up a set of questions for the other students in the class to answer on their photos… Just a suggestion. let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

